How did Arctic Monkeys get their name?

Arctic Monkeys formed in 2002 in High Green, a suburb of Sheffield. The band consists of Alex Turner (lead vocals, rhythm/lead guitar), Matt Helders (drums, vocals), Jamie Cook (lead/rhythm guitar) and Nick O'Malley (bass, backing vocals). Guitarist Jamie Cook was the one who came up with the band name "Arctic Monkeys" before the band even existed.